Precision Medicine Sessions

  1. Key Methodologies in Precision Medicine for Drug Discovery
  2. Next-Generation Sequencing – Applications and Advancement of Genomic Medicine
  3. Immunotherapy for Personalized Medicine
  4. Cancer Care, Diagnosis & Treatment
  5. Microarray and Microfluidic Technologies: Potential in Medicine & Diagnostics
  6. Latest Applications of Liquid Biopsy Research
  7. Stem Cells and Drug Development

Ion Channel Sessions

  1. Key Methodologies in Ion Channel Research for Drug Discovery
  2. Cardiac Safety, CiPA and its impact on drug discovery
  3. Role of Ion Channels in Cancer Treatment
  4. Ion Channels as Pain Targets
  5. Ion Channels as Disease Targets: Alzheimer and Neurodegenerative disease, ALS, Cystic Fibrosis, Epilepsy, Infectious disease
  6. Emerging Areas of Ion Transporter Research
  7. Ion Channels & Immune System


  • Aaron McMurtray, M.D., Ph.D.- Associate Clinical Professor of Neurology, David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California; Los Angeles
  • Andrea Ghetti, Ph.D.- Chief Executive Officer at AnaBios Corporation
  • Annarosa Arcangeli, Ph.D.- Professor in the Department of Experimental and Clinical Medicine at University of Florence
  • Chris Mathes, Ph.D.- Chief Commercial Officer at AnaBios Corporation
  • Christine Beeton, Ph.D.- Graduate Program Director of Biomedical Sciences and Associate Professor in the Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics at Baylor College of Medicine
  • David Hackos, Ph.D.- Senior Scientist at Genentech, Inc.
  • David Smith, Ph.D.- Professor in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at Mayo Clinic
  • Elena Dragicevic, Ph.D. – Alliance Manager at Nanion Technologies GmbH
  • Eric Nisenbaum, Ph.D.- Senior Director CNS Research at Alkermes
  • Fernanda Laezza, M.D., Ph.D.- Graduate Program Director and Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Filip Van Petegem, Ph.D.- Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at University of British Columbia
  • Georg Terstappen, Ph.D.- Chief Scientific Officer at OxStem
  • Hailong An, Ph.D.- Deputy Director and Professor in the Institute of Biophysics at Hebei University of Technology
  • Isabelle Deschenes, Ph.D.- Professor of Medicine, Physiology & Biophysics and Biomedical Engineering at Case Western Reserve University
  • James L. Ellis, Ph.D.- Chief Scientific Officer at Nocion Therapeutics
  • Jinwei Zhang, Ph.D.- Principal Investigator in the Laboratory of Molecular Biology at National Institute of Health
  • Jonathan Davila, Ph.D.- Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder at Neucyte
  • Jonas Korlach, Ph.D.- Chief Scientific Officer at Pacific Biosciences
  • JP Johnson, Ph.D.- Vice President, Biology at Xenon Pharmaceuticals Inc.
  • Khaled Barakat, Ph.D.- Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at University of Alberta
  • Kevin Foskett, Ph.D.- Isaac Ott Professor of Physiology at University of Pennsylvania
  • Laura Hilton, Ph.D.- Postdoctoral Fellow at Simon Fraser University
  • Marc Pourrier, Ph.D.- Vice President, Operations at IonsGate
  • Marc Rogers, Ph.D.- Chief Scientific Officer at Metrion Biosciences
  • Marzia Martina, Ph.D.- Team Leader, Electrophysiology in Human Health Therapeutics at National Research Council of Canada
  • Merritt Maduke, Ph.D.- Associate Professor of Molecular and Cellular Physiology at Stanford University
  • Michelina Iacovino, Ph.D.- Assistant Professor in the Department of Pediatrics, David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California Los Angeles
  • Mohamed Chahine, Ph.D.- Professor in the Department of Medicine at Laval University and CERVO Brain Research Centre
  • Najah Abi-Gerges, Ph.D.- Vice President, Research & Development at AnaBios Corporation
  • Oleg Yerstein, Ph.D.- Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Neurology, David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California; Los Angeles
  • Owen McManus, Ph.D.- Chief Technology Officer at Q-State Biosciences
  • Paul C.H. Li, Ph.D.- Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Simon Fraser University
  • Samir Hanash, Ph.D.- Director, Red and Charline McCombs Institute for the Early Detection and Treatment of Cancer, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Stefan Feske, M.D., Ph.D.- Jeffrey Bergstein Professor of Medicine and Director of the Ion Channel & Immunity Program at New York University School of Medicine
  • Terry Snutch, Ph.D.- Professor and the Canada Research Chair in Biotechnology and Genomics- Neurobiology at University of British Columbia
  • Tzyh-Chang Hwang, M.D., Ph.D.- Professor in the Department of Medical Pharmacology and Physiology at University of Missouri
  • Wayne Giles, Ph.D.- Professor in the Faculty of Kinesiology at University of Calgary
  • Xiaoliang Wang, Ph.D.- Director of the Institute of Pharmacology at Chinese Academic of Medical Sciences
  • Yan Xu, Ph.D.- Peter Winter Professor of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine at University of Pittsburgh
  • Yingji Li, Ph.D.- Vice President and Founder of ICE Bioscience
  • Yuji Imaizumi, Ph.D.- Professor in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology at Nagoya City University
  • Zhiyuan Li, Ph.D.- Principal Investigator at Guangzhou Institutes of Biomedicine and Health


Sheraton Vancouver Wall Center
1088 Burrard Street, Vancouver
British Columbia, Canada, V6Z 2R9
Tel: +1 (604) 331-1000

We have arranged discounted pricing at this hotel. You can book accommodation online or by calling their toll free number +1-888-236-2427 and requesting the Aurora Biomed Conference rate.

Last Day to Book at discounted rate: Tuesday, July 2, 2019

Room pricing: $319 CAD/ night


  • Craig January, MD, PhD – Professor at the School of Medicine and Public Health, at the University of Wisconsin
  • William Catterall, PhD – Professor and Chair of University of Washington Department of Pharmacology
  • Arthur Brown, PhD – CEO of MemChan; former founder & CEO of ChanTest
  • Yuko Sekino, PhD – Director of Pharmacology National Institute of Health Sciences, Japan
  • Edward Stevens, PhD – Head of Electrophysiology at Pfizer, Cambridge, UK
  • Dennis Lo, MD, PhD – Associate Dean, Faculty of Medicine at CUHK, Foreign Associate US Academy of Sciences
  • George Chandy, MD, PhD – Professor at NTU SG and UC Irvine
  • Kurt Stoeckli President & CSO at Glenmark Pharmaceuticals, Switzerland
  • Hailin Zhang, MD, PhD – Vice President of Hebei Medical University
  • Richard Olsen, PhDDistinguished Professor of Neuroscience at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Yuklam Lo Secretariat, and Honorary Chairman, Hong Kong Biotechlogy Organization
  • An Hailong Hebei University of Technology; Professor
  • Dan Minor, PhD – Professor, Biochemistry and Biophysics, Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology, University of California
  • Steve Goldstein, MD, PhDDirector at the Institute of Pediatric Sciences, University of Chicago
  • John Dunlop, PhD VP, Neuroscience Research at Amgen, Professor of Neuroscience, University of St Andrews
  • Laszlo Urban, MD, PhD – Executive Director at Novartis
  • Jean-Pierre Valentin, PhD – Senior Director, Head of Investigative Toxicology at UCB